top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSritha N

A dive into dysmenorrhea

Dysmenorrhea is menstrual pain where females experience contractions which can cause significant pain and discomfort in the woman’s lower abdomen.

Lat week I decided that I want to shift my primary focus for my original work towards this diagnosis since dysmenorrhea can be severe enough to result in women presenting to emergency departments making it an important public health problem.

I found out more about the primary cause of it and how it affects mainly young women for the first part of my research. For my second part I decided to look in shock treatment and if it had been used to treat camps before. I only found a few articles about it in practice. I gathered the most relevant statistics for my research and did an assessment on a primary article that I felt encompassed what I was looking for. More of my research can be found under my "assessments" tab.

Traditionally, pharmacologic options for the treatment of dysmenorrhea have been non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs- NSAIDs- or the oral contraceptive pill. However, there is a percentage of affected women who do not respond to these treatments or may experience adverse side effects. These factors may make them less desirable to certain candidates. For my research I wanted to take my previous knowledge of shock treatment to treat muscle hypertonia and dystonia and see if it could be applied to uterine pain. I found out about transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation and new research that have led doctors to believe that it would be a plausible treatment method for primary dysmenorrhea.

Moving on I want to keep my focus on shock treatments and I want to look into more convenient ways that women can perform their own TENS treatments at home with caution and efficacy.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page