top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSritha N

A Good Week For a Quick 180º

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

I began my ISM journey heartset on going into pediatric cardiology. This came from a place of grief but also much interest in the way the field works.

For the past five or so weeks I have dove into different heart conditions and the best methods that cardiologists have found to either eradicate them or to lessen their toll on patients. I really enjoyed looking at statistics of implantable cardioverter defibrillators for Sudden Cardiac death and also the intra-aortic balloon pump for cardiogenic shock- but something felt off.

I want to feel an even more personal connection to my patients and, for some reason, I slowly came to realize that I wasn't as invested in the cardiology aspect of pediatric cardiology as I thought.

Since I was more heavily interested in helping small kids and their families, I decided to pursue Obstetrics and gynaecology. Obstetricians care for women during their pregnancy and just after the baby is born as they also deliver babies. An ob-gyn is trained to deal with some of the most important health issues in a woman's life, including birth control, childbirth, and menopause.

During their clinical experience in obstetrics and gynecology, I have heard that students often experience deeply meaningful relationships with patients at poignant life milestones, including conception, birth, and major surgery. And this was everything I was looking for.

For now, I am more than happy shifting my focus towards studying obstetrics and gynaecology and I am so excited to do even more research into this fascinating and nuanced field.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page